Wednesday, 16 November 2016

Stenson awarded Honorary Life Membership of The European Tour

#Henrik Stenson

Stenson awarded Honorary Life Membership of The European Tour

Henrik Stenson today became the latest player to join the exclusive group of Honorary Life Members of the European Tour.
Stenson is the 51st player – and the first from Sweden – to receive the accolade, in recognition of his maiden Major Championship win at the The 145th Open Championship at Royal Troon.
The current Race to Dubai leader was presented with the award by Keith Pelley, Chief Executive of the European Tour, ahead of the DP World Tour Championship, Dubai, where he is in pole position to end the season as the European Tour’s Number One.
The first Honorary Life Member of the European Tour was its Founding Father, John Jacobs OBE, the Tour’s first Executive Director. He was later joined by golf luminaries such as Seve Ballesteros, Jack Nicklaus and Arnold Palmer.
Danny Willett became the 50th member of the club earlier this year in recognition of his triumph at the Masters Tournament and Stenson now follows him after becoming the second European Tour member to win a Major Championship in 2016.
Stenson, who broke a plethora of long-standing records during his three-shot win in Troon, went toe-to-toe with five-time Major winner Phil Mickelson in a thrilling final day duel. The Swede carded a 63 to equal the lowest round in Major history, while his 264 aggregate score was also the lowest in a Major Championship.
Stenson has enjoyed a stellar year, winning the BMW International Open in June and following up his triumph at The Open with a silver medal at the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro. A tied second-place finish at the WGC-HSBC Champions in Shanghai last month was enough to propel him to the top of the Race to Dubai Rankings heading into the final week.
“It is a great honour to join the exclusive club of people who have been awarded Honorary Life Membership of The European Tour,” he said. “That's definitely a special thing and something I will dearly cherish.”
Keith Pelley said: “It is a true privilege to present Henrik with his Honorary Life Membership of The European Tour. Obviously the epic battle and his legendary win in The Open Championship at Troon versus Phil Mickelson is the catalyst for this.
“But Henrik is a special member of our Tour both on and off the golf course. What he gives to our Tour is incredible, his contribution to the Tournament Committee, and how he interacts with all the players. I call him often to get advice, but today it's about celebrating his greatness on the golf course, and there was no greater afternoon than watching that Sunday at Troon.”
Honorary Life Members of The European Tour
1978      John Jacobs OBE
1978      Bernard Hunt MBE
1978      Dai Rees CBE
1982      Peter Butler
1983      Seve Ballesteros
1983      Tony Jacklin CBE
1985      Sir Henry Cotton MBE
1985      Fred Daly MBE
1985      Max Faulkner OBE
1985      Bernhard Langer
1985      Sandy Lyle MBE
1987      Sir Nick Faldo MBE
1992      Ian Woosnam OBE
1994      José María Olazábal
1995      Bob Charles
1995      Arnold Palmer
1995      Gary Player
1997      Colin Montgomerie OBE
1998      Ernie Els
1999      Paul Lawrie OBE
1999      Greg Norman
2001      Vijay Singh
2002      Retief Goosen
2003      Peter Alliss
2003      Bernard Gallacher OBE
2004      Neil Coles MBE
2004      Christy O’Connor
2004      John Panton
2005      Michael Campbell
2007      Angel Cabrera
2007      Padraig Harrington
2008      Trevor Immelman
2010      Martin Kaymer
2010      Graeme McDowell MBE
2010      Louis Oosthuizen
2010      Tom Watson
2011      Darren Clarke OBE
2011      Rory McIlroy MBE
2011      Charl Schwartzel
2011      Lee Westwood OBE
2012      Luke Donald MBE
2012      Brian Huggett MBE
2012      Tommy Horton MBE
2012      Mark James
2012      Roger Chapman
2013      Dave Thomas
2013     Justin Rose
2014      Jack Nicklaus
2016      Peter Oosterhuis
2016      Danny Willett
2016      Henrik Stenson

About The European Tour
The European Tour celebrates men’s professional golf on a global stage. In 2016, the European Tour International Schedule features 47 tournaments in 27 countries, all part of the Race to Dubai, the year-long competition which crowns the European Tour Number One at the end of the season, a title claimed in 2015 by Rory McIlroy for the third time.
Since its formation in 1972, the European Tour has witnessed 25 Members celebrate a total of 51 Major Championship titles between them, enjoyed ten Members attaining the pinnacle of World Number One and has celebrated its diversity as players from 36 different countries have won on Tour.
The European Tour also manages the Challenge Tour, which features 28 tournaments in 22 countries in 2016, and the Senior Tour, which features 13 tournaments in nine countries in 2016. It is also the Managing Partner of Ryder Cup Europe, the body which, alongside the PGA of America, administers golf’s greatest team contest, The Ryder Cup.
The European Tour broadcasts live coverage of its tournaments to over 490 million homes in more than 150 countries every week, generating in excess of 2200 global broadcast hours for each event. It also enjoys the support of many of the world’s leading business brands with Rolex, BMW, Jumeirah Golf Estates, Emirates and Titleist as Official Partners.

No comments:

Post a Comment